• Site Updates Coming Monday

We’re planning to start making changes bright and early on Monday so you might see the site down fir a bit, but no worries, we’ll make our changes and be back as soon as we can!

VIEW THREAD
  • Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

My DIY Weathermeter Wind Vane Project

Racer88

Firearms Pedant
Minuteman
  • Nov 10, 2018
    This is my first post on Sniper's Hide. I've lurked for a while as a non-member, but I just joined today. I am fairly new to precision shooting. I got my first precision rifle (a friend built a custom AR-15 for me) several years ago. I dabbled in it and shot in a couple of NRA Mid-range High Power matches. Almost a year ago, wifey bought me a Ruger Precision Rifle in 6.5CM. Since then, I've been on a "precision rifle kick." It's quite the "rabbit hole!" I'm having fun with it.

A while back I got the Weatherflow Weathermeter. It measures wind speed, humidity, temperature, and more. It's designed to be a hand-held gizmo. You face into the wind and take your measurement.

The cool part is that it interfaces with Strelok Pro (ballistic app). Of course, that measurement is but a momentary reading. The wind, of course, changes. So, I could stand up and take a measurement, but when I get back prone on the rifle and get ready to take my shot.... well... that measurement I took moments ago may or may not be applicable. Now, if I was a master at reading the wind, that would help when I take the shot.

I do recognize that the Weathermeter reading is but a moment in time at a very specific position (near the shooter). So, I understand that there's more to reading the wind. I submit using a weathermeter will help "calibrate" a newbie's senses in reading the wind.