• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

New to Hide - LR-308

Tiller1k

Private
Minuteman
Nov 16, 2008
Houston, TX
Hello all!

I have lurked for a while on the Hide but recently built a new rifle to fit the longer range role in my safe. It is a DPMS "Semi-SASS". Basically a SASS type lower with an 18" free-floater upper (AP4 style BBL). It is an odd combo and I don't know exactly how it came to be but I purchased it new last month. I added a Harris bipod and Millett TRS-1 4.5-16X50 optics.

I have been shooting for 30 years but just recently started getting into longer ranges. I am a fair shot but am definitely needing some guidance with this rifle.

I have discovered that the rifle likes Federal 168BTHP GMM. I have tried many types of ammo and this works the best so far. I still haven't tried the Remington or PRVI loads but the Hornady works well too. I will post up some pics but at 100yds, it will shoot anywhere from .75" to 1.25" with regularity and the majority fall right at or just under 1 MOA (3 shot groups, I can post up some targets if it matters). I am quite happy with this but here is the problem...

I can shoot a group under 1 MOA and the next 3 might as well be done with my eyes closed. Same ammo, same rifle, 3" groups.

I won't proclaim to be an expert but my technique is fairly solid and consistent.

I am looking for any ideas why a reasonably capable rifle would be prone to inconsistency? I am not above accepting that I am doing something wrong but I think there is more to it than that. Upper/lower fit is fair but could be better which is one idea. Shots tend to be stringing a bit.

I like this rifle but I need to get some consistency before I can trust it.