• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Reloading Equipment Question

wwrhodes91

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2012
Hey guys,
I know this is a common question and I have tried to read as much as possible before asking, but I am new to reloading and I am looking at these items:
RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme Kit
Lyman Flash hole uniformer
Forster Bench Rest Die Set
Lyman Case length headspace gage
RCBS Flit-top ammo box
Lyman case prep multi tool
Frankford Arsenal Caliper

Is there anything else I should look at? Are any of these unnecessary? I'm looking at trimmers now. I shoot f-class style 200-300 yard matches every month if that changes anything. I will probably be using 175 SMKs and 178 A-max for the most part. Thanks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

You're close there, get a comparator to measure with. Shit can those RCBS ammo boxes, they are high dollar, get a 10 pack of Mtm ones with hinged lids, I just bought 10 for $34.?? from Midway. A priming tool other than the press is nice also, not sure what is in the kit.

Good Luck!

I needed to add the RCBS boxes to get a $50 rebate from RCBS. The kit comes with a hand primer. I will look into comparators thanks.

Get some good case lube. I like the Dillon spray lube. But you can make your own with 91% or higher isopropyl alcohol and lanolin. 10 to 1.

The case gauge is not really needed. You will use the comparator (I have the Hornady with inserts to check case shoulder length and bullet seating to ogive). The case gauge is good if you are loading the same rounds for multiple firearms, as the case gauge is set to gauge to SAAMI specs to fit all chambers.

For calipers for the comparator and other use, I just get the Harbor Freight digitals (Chinese, cheap, also available from other sources).