Rifle to Learn with at 200yds (.223)?

JPT

Private
Minuteman
Nov 17, 2009
Madison, Wisconsin
I am a newbie to rifle with a competition pistol background. I have this vision of shooting F-T/R at a range near me (up to 1,000yds). Taking the advice of some on this forum, I am putting that vision on hold while I learn the fundamentals of rifle shooting. I have a semi-auto .22 that will suit me for that. But, I am thinking that I would like a .223 bolt-action to work with as well. This would be used at my club's 200 yard range - again, for the purposes of learning fundamentals. I would like .223 because of the economics of shooting enough to make it matter. As I learn more, I would use this rifle to go out further - maybe to 600yds occasionally.

Question? Does it make much difference what rifle I get for this purpose? On the one hand I am thinking about the tupperware Savage 10 or 12, or the tupperware 700 SPS. Or, does it make sense to learn with a better gun like the 700P or the 12BVSS where you get the nicer bedding and floated barrel and nicer stock. Will any of that really matter for my purposes? Or, does it make sense to go in the other direction and just get a Stevens 200 and spend what I save on ammo and a scope.

I DO NOT plan on ever using this rifle for F-T/R. I intend to pick up a Savage F-T/R for that purpose when the time comes.

By the way, I am not a guy who tends to buy used, unless it is a smokin' deal.

Re: Rifle to Learn with at 200yds (.223)?

I got the tupperware Savage 16 from Walmart as my first bolt action to learn with. Just "upgrade" by getting it bedded properly and it can shoot 0.6MOA with the right loads. I didn't have a pricey fancy scope on it either. Just a $200 Mueller Tactical and I was able to print 0.6MOA groups all day long (after reloading).

You can then upgrade it later on by changing out the barrel and stock.