• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Suppressor vs. Muzzle Brake

rustyinbend

GySgt USMC 1976-1992
Minuteman
  • Dec 9, 2018
    Bend, Oregon
    I'm just getting into the really long distances, and I'm struggling with this one.

I've sort of "defaulted" to using a suppressor, as it seemed the easier and more civilized choice for noise and concussion. But I decided to mount a Gen-3 Little Bastard muzzle brake on a new rifle (Tikka 6.5-CM), and I have to admit that the ability to see my impacts and get back on target, improved by orders of magnitude. That said, the guy at the bench next to me certainly gave me a few nasty looks since the side concussion was, um, impressive.

I'm traveling to a long range class in April to shoot out to (hopefully) 2,000 yards ... and feeling like I should pull the ASR suppressor brake off my primary distance rifle (Masterpiece Arms 300-WMBA), skip the can, and get good with a good muzzle brake instead of using a can at this event. Need to make this decision in time to solidify and lock in my zero, and have good ballistics/velocity information.

Has anyone else gone gone through this conundrum and willing to share your thoughts?

Is impact visibility and recoil management more important that concussion avoidance and good range-manners?

As someone that has shot mostly with a muzzle brake, I readily welcome the thought of shooting fully suppressed. I didn't realize how much I would enjoy it until I shot the 2018 quiet riot match, which is 100% suppressed.