• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Trouble with load data need help...

warlock76

Private
Minuteman
Feb 7, 2009
Ashland, Ky
Ok guys I'm new to the reloading game and shooting long range looking for some insight. What I'm working with is Rem700 308 with H4895 with 155gr hpbt. On hodgdon web sight for load data states 46gr max load well at 45.5gr seems that the powder is almost into the neck of the cartridge. Am I stupid or is this normal to have that amount of powder in a case it seems to be compressing the powder when loading the projectile. Any help will be greatly appreciated because I would prefer not to explode my rifle..

Ok guys I'm new to the reloading game and shooting long range looking for some insight. What I'm working with is Rem700 308 with H4895 with 155gr hpbt. On hodgdon web sight for load data states 46gr max load well at 45.5gr seems that the powder is almost into the neck of the cartridge. Am I stupid or is this normal to have that amount of powder in a case it seems to be compressing the powder when loading the projectile. Any help will be greatly appreciated because I would prefer not to explode my rifle..
You need to spend some money, and start doing more reading. Buy a handful of reloading books, Lyman, Lee, Speer, Hornady.. and so on. Not only will you be able to cross-referance load data for peace of mind, but you too will find specs that denote compressed loads.

About 46 gr of H4895 is about the book LEE book spec max(just looked it up). If you are new to reloading and are having to ask these questions, you may want to start at the minimum load and work your way up. I'd advice you to start your loads around 43gr of 4895 and go up from there. Hope that helps.

Last edited: