• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Maggie’s 6.6 duramax... good or bad?

stello1001

Professional Newb
Minuteman
  • Feb 20, 2017
    Corpus Christi TX
    Like the title states, were these engines very problematic? I have no experience with diesel engines so hoping someone could be helpful.

Not too long ago, I got a Ford 6.0 and mostly everyone said they were not reliable unless bullet proof. Turned it around real quick for a profit.

From what I gathered, the "bulletproofing" process is Some thing that applied to those ford engines specifically and not all diesel engines. Having said that, can I expect to have piece of mind if I am to purchase this truck?

Thanks,

S

ETA:

The one I'm looking at is a 2004 with 210,XXX miles. Owner said he recently replaced injectors which is a very costly upgrade I dont have to worry about.

Last edited:
    I own an 06 that we bought the end of 05.
    It was a transition model I guess. Tbz with LLY coding.
    Still have it, 140k, original injectors Allison 1000 series tranny, nothing but oil changes and drive it.
    Been a hell of a truck overall, can't speak of the Late models. But mine is a simpler version than current models.

Its a solid motor, the Duramax has been a 6.6l the entire time with slight changes every few years. That said, there's more to a truck than the motor. What year model is the one you are looking at?

Last edited:
    I guess I should have mentioned that lol. I thought the 6.6 duramax trucks were only from a certain period but I guess not.