• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

A good 1500 yard caliber

para1505

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 20, 2010
Columbia MO area
I am willing to consider any caliber. The two main parameters I'm wanting is good barrel life and affordable reloading.
The caliber I have been thinking about for this is the 6.5 PRC. I have no experience shooting over 1200 yards. This rifle will be used for target shooting only at steel.

Define good barrel life?

In decent conditions my 260 does well at 1500 as would a 6.5CM.

A 6.5 prc would be even better.

My 7 saum is pretty nice at that distance even when it’s not perfect out.

The 300WM and 300PRC are excellent choices as well.

Bigger bullets from the 7mm and 300’s are definitely easier to spot.

Define good barrel life. A .308 in a 24-26 inch tube can make it to 1500. Maybe not well, but not much worst then other short action cartridges. Easy to find bullets and brass for.
A 7mm-08 although not as popular as the 260 and creed still has more barrel life, and can reach out better than a .308.
Pretty much if you “want good barrel life” stay away from over bore cartridges.

Reactions: 308pirate
Define good barrel life?

In decent conditions my 260 does well at 1500 as would a 6.5CM.

A 6.5 prc would be even better.

My 7 saum is pretty nice at that distance even when it’s not perfect out.

The 300WM and 300PRC are excellent choices as well.

Bigger bullets from the 7mm and 300’s are definitely easier to spot.
3000 round barrel life would be preferred
I am a fare weather shooter since you said the .260 that would really spark my interest. One rifle to do it all. What bullet at what velocity are shooting a 260 at 1500 yards with

3000 round barrel life would be preferred