CZ 457 Ammo

BigRed308

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jan 16, 2019
Hey guys. Ive been less able to run to the range and shoot my dedicated long guns at distance. Thus, Ive placed a CZ 457 MTR on order for hopes of being able to shoot more often since I have access to 0-300 yards more easily than 300+ yard ranges. I am fairly new to rimfire and wonder what ammo to include in my initial test. I see some comments of not to shoot subsonic because of the drop-(DUH) but others saying to shoot subsonic match ammo. As I said Im fairly need to the rimfire world and looking for a handful of ammo to test out. I have heard about the new SK long range but it seems to be limited availability for the most part. If any of you have a 457 MTR, what ammo is running best in yours? Thanks for the help in advance. Look forward to getting out and shooting here soon.

CCi SV, SK Standard+, SK Rifle Match, SK Pistol Match, Wolf Match & Match Extra, Lapua Center-X, Lapua Midas +, RWS R-50, and Eley Tenex are good starting points.

It's luck of the draw finding good lots that work in your particular barrel.... lot to lot variation, the nemesis of rimfire. It's a great challenge but certainly requires patience and understanding compared to centerfire.

Thanks for the help. I will order a handful of boxes from each. I plan to put 500 or so rounds through the gun before I really start testing ammo.

Thanks for the help. I will order a handful of boxes from each. I plan to put 500 or so rounds through the gun before I really start testing ammo.
Good strategy (y)

I've kept the empty boxes and test targets of all my initial test ammo, for lot numbers and a progressive timeline.

Reactions: BigRed308
And don't underestimate CCI SV. It is surprisingly accurate. Not amazing. Not better than a good lot of SK Standard plus, but still pretty good on it's own.