• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Rifle Scopes I want to scope my TRG .300 mag. Advice appreciate

sakoluvr

Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 5, 2010
North Carolina
I am new to long range shooting/hunting. I bought a TRG in .300 Win Mag as an alternative to getting a custom built. My primary use with this rifle will be beanfield hunting for whitetails.

I am overwhelmed when looking at scopes. I decided I want to wait and spend money on one of the big 3 brands: S&B, Swarovski or Zeiss. What I find even more overwhelming is finding a reticle that will be hunting friendly in low light, I want to spin turrets and I want to get a ranging reticle.

Right now, I am looking close at the S&B 4-16 PMII. Thinking about going with a Holland ART reticle, but worried about the possibility of close shots at dusk, and not seeing the reticle on the FFP scope.

Any inputs as far as mounts and tubes will be greatly appreciated as I continue my research.

Re: I want to scope my TRG .300 mag. Advice appreciate

http://www.nearmfg.com/

Richard Near makes the best Bases, Rings, and Mounts for the TRG. Here are some pis of his TRG Base with his Alphamount....

102_2782.jpg

102_2781.jpg

102_2775.jpg

Near does indeed make a fine product and has great customer service. As far a being the "best" I can't say but on my 22 and 42 I run 20MOA Near base with steel Badger Ord rings with PM2'S, one tough combo.

Not knocking Richard Near's product (I have his base on my TRG), but take a look at Spuhr mounts. He just did a group buy on this website and the reviews were very positive. The nice thing about his mount is that it mounts directly to the action dovetail...you don't have to buy a base.

Link