Load Development - Where to Begin?

Phil3

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 13, 2008
San Ramon, CA
I am new to reloading, have all the equipment, and am ready to make some live rounds. But where to begin in the load development process? Powders, powder weight, bullet brand, type, weight, seating depth, jump to lands, neck tension, etc. Limitless combinations, but need to start somewhere. Unsure as to where.

Start with the "accuracy load" for an AR15 as in Sierra's book (as long as it safe when cross-referenced w/other manuals), and see what happens? What is the next logical change following that? Powder weight, bullet, or one of the above variables....? I am looking for a a generally accepted way of developing an accurate load that does not waste components and barrel life.

Unfortunately, my local range is just 100 yards, but if that distance is not good enough for load development, I can do 200 and 300 yard, even if it is a 4 hour total drive for the day.

The gun is an AR15 223 Remington, built for bench shooting and accuracy (longer, heavy barrel, Geiselle trigger, etc.).

Thanks.

- Phil

Re: Load Development - Where to Begin?

pick a bullet weight you want to use and a powder that's popular for round and make some up in different incriments. For my 223 bolt I had a crap load of Hor 55sp. I chose Benchmark,H335 and H332 as I had those on hand. Then I did my manuel cross referencing to find a weight in the middle of the min and max range and loaded up 3 rounds each of a given charge and went up in .3 incriments to max. Of the promising ones there I loaded 5 rounds to try out. So far it's worked for several rifles I load for.

Do some research into what projectiles work for others with the same gun you have... once you have it down chose either one highly proven projectile, or the ones you are interested in. Same thing goes for the powder.