Need advice...

joelinux

hed weezul
Minuteman
Apr 1, 2019
I did a search, and didn't find anything, so if this has already been talked to death, or is in the wrong section, please let me know.

I'm very interested in learning how to shoot at extra extra long ranges. (2000+ yards).

At first, I was set on the M99 chambered in .416, (I live in Kommiefornia), but then I started reading up on the Desert Tech HTI, which evidently pulls a Swiss army routine and can shoot .416, .375CT, and others.

Some others were mocking the M99, saying it wasn't that accurate a rifle.

Coming into this cold (I've mainly shot pistols up to this point), I'd love some advice as to the arguments for and against each rifle, or, if there is another rifle that can chamber the .416 you would recommend.

I’m fairly new to this type of shooting, and I’m sure someone who has more experience will chime in soon, but those calibers seem like more then a handful to start out with. Even with a heavy we’ll made rifle the recoil will be something of a distraction.
I would think that you’d be better suited to start out with a smaller caliber that is not only easier to shoot, but far cheaper to shoot. I’d think one you could buy of the shelf ammo for so you don’t necessarily have to learn the tricks of precision reloading at the same time.
Probably the best thing you can do is go out to a range with some buddies and shoot some of their stuff and see how it performs for you and what you like. There is so much that will be easier to learn with out a big gun beating you up.

Mike