• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Range Report Shooter app, Why Temperature w/ Density Altitude

Ryo

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 10, 2009
Bothell, WA
Okay I'm no expert on Density Altitude, but isn't that calculated based on air temperature, altitude, barometric pressure, and humidity? If so, then why does the Shooter app (using Android) have Temperature right under the Density Altitude as a modifiable value if Density Altitude is calculated with temperature? Is the temperature some type of anchor in the mathematics of the calculations? I do know modifying the temperature in Shooter would effect my dope by 0.1 mils per 10F (as a estimate). I just thought this was interesting..

On a side note is it better to use Shooter with the Kestrel bluetooth to get the altitude, etc data or just keep it on density altitude? I found density altitude easily got my elevation perfect on 700 yard targets.

Re: Shooter app, Why Temperature w/ Density Altitude

Shooter utilizes temp when selecting DA sot hat the proper speed of sound can be calculated. Speed of sound is directly related to temperature.

Some other programs that allow a Density Altitude input do not recognize temperature and cannot calculate for speed of sound at a given temperature. Those programs will become inherently inaccurate at ranges beyond 500 yards.

Oh nevermind figured it out..

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Compensation for Change of Muzzle Velocity with Temperature