• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

30 shots in 10 minutes?

TRPAUBREY

Private
Minuteman
Feb 27, 2011
I am fairly new to bolt action rifles and need some advice. There is a match at the local club on Sunday. It will require firing 30-40 rounds in 10 minutes. I usually use my semi-auto tactical rifle, but I am concidering using my .308 Remington 700 26" heavy barrell police. Would this high round count in a short period of time be hard on the barrell? The barrell of my tactical rifle (Robinson Arms XCR in 7.62x39) can take the heat, but will my heavy barrell Remington be O.K.?

Thanks

Re: 30 shots in 10 minutes?

High heat and sustained fire will kill any barrel, it will just eat the throat up in no time. Depending on how many time you do this and how often will determine if your barrel will be damaged to the point of replacement.

I would assume that the barrells on AR15s and rifles like the Rob Arms XCR are made for continuous firing where as a bolt action barrell is not?

Awwww, its not great to heat any precision barrel up like the match does but it is good steel and as long as you dont make fast shooting a habit the harm is minimal. All shooting 'hurts' the barrel it is a question of degree and my thought is the degree is small.

Good Luck

I've done this a few times in my r700 tactical.. Actually I do it maybe once a month just see how fast I can slam 5 rounds and how tight.. I hope I don't run into problems but if I do it will just justify me buying a better barrel..