Mirage and Long range shooting

dumbbell

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 29, 2010
Des Arc, AR (aka where?)
Me and some of my buddies shot today at 600 and out to 1660. AT 600, all of us were hitting .3-.4 tenths of a mil low. I am new to shooting in mirage, as i normally just avoid it, but want to learn. Was the mirage causing the target to appear higher than it was, or just bad trigger pull causing problems? Also, will mirage in windy conditions ever move the target left or right?

My second question is more of an elr one. I shot my 338 lapua today out to 1660 yards. I only shot 3 times because i wasnt sure if i was even hitting it as we couldnt see it. It is a 4ft round target so that i can spot my misses easier. The group(if you could call it one) was probable 24-30 inches wide, but only one inch vertical. Obviously my wind calls were nonexistent, i just put in my windage and aimed the same each time. Besides working on that, what do you think about the wide group? Find another hobby, find another load, work on wind calls, etc? The wind was varying at 7-13mph at a 50 degree angle to my shooting position. 30.26 pressure, 51 degrees, beautiful day for arkansas. All shots were taken within about 20-25 seconds of the previous shot. Thank you for the help, and how much ive learned on here. Greg

It can make it appear higher , lower , moving side to side and in circles . There is nothing you can do to over come this except power your scope down until it stops.
Even if it means powering down to 4x or 5 x
Don't find another hobby lol , The wide group , it's hard to tell from what you described . It can be a number of things .If you want to easily eliminate the load question start at a closer range and see how it groups. Shooting a new load at 1660 is way too far for load development . Then you can work on your wind calls , everything in steps or you will just be chasing your tail in a circle.