• Happy 4th of July! Use code AMERICA24 to get 15% off subscriptions

All subscriptions are on sale! Pick yours below

Subscribe

New to AR platform looking for some help.

Ijones

Private
Minuteman
Dec 16, 2019
I am new to the AR platform having never owned or built one before. I am looking to built a long range gun with 1000 yard capabilities. My only experiances are with bolt guns so i did some research and put together a list of parts. I was hoping to get some opinions on my build. If there is anything you see that wont work or could be done better i would love to hear about it. Also i know not all AR-10 parts are interchangable. So if there are any known issued with non fitment of my selected parts that would be great to know before buying.

I have an Aero Presision M5 stripped lower and a Aero M5E1 upper. And have decided i would like to build a 6.5 creedmore. Below are the parts i selected after a fee weeks of research. Let me know what you all think of the list and if there is anything you would do different.

Either a 22" or 24" Batlein barrel with rifle +2 gas hole.
Rife +2 gas tube
JP low profile adjustable gas block
JP low mass BCG with high pressure enhanced bolt.
Colt 7075 forged buffer tube
JP silent capture kit in standard
Calvin elite timney trigger
Raptor ambidextrous charge handle
Timney 49er saftey selector
Magpul PRS gen 3 stock
Magpul MOE+ grip
M5 enhanced 15" m-loc handguard
Aero presision M5 lower pin and spring kit.

Well that's it. Let me know what you think about it or if there are known fitment problems or if i left oit a needed part.

Thanks for taking the time to help out a new guy!!