• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Watch Movements. . . snobbery?

utnapishtim

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 14, 2008
Saint Paul, Minnesota
I have an Omega Seamaster, which I've owned and enjoyd with pride for a few years now. It keeps perfect time, seems nearly indestructable, and looks great.

Recently, a relative-in-law was looking at it and said, somewhat condescendngly, "Oh. You got the quartz.". He went on to explain that it wasn't really anything more than a pretty digital watch.

So, my question is this. Why would you want a mechanical watch more than a quartz? I understand that the sweepig second hand is pretty, and there is some nestalgia associated to the fine craftsmanship of a mechanical watch. . . But aren't they unreliable, highly delicate, and require regular maintenance? I chose a quartz for it's accuracy and reliabilty. Should I feel like I have any less of a watch?

Re: Watch Movements. . . snobbery?

Some watch prices are insane, it tells time, maybe date, month, and if fancy it has a altimeter or ballistic computer ($200) not $$$$$$$ = for that kind of money it better produce a force field or alarm that gives me BJ's to wake me up in the morning.

A watch it to tell time...
Quartz is always more accurate than mechanical. Less maint and fewer moving parts. Usually cheaper.

The rest is jewelry...something for the spouse.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: fx77</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A watch it to tell time...
Quartz is always more accurate than mechanical. Less maint and fewer moving parts. Usually cheaper.

The rest is jewelry...something for the spouse. </div></div>

Atomic watches tell time.....

the rest are pretty bangles on your wrist.